Season of the Witch

Some artists work in oils. Others deal in pastels.

My medium of choice is lists. The following is a set of points detailing my weekend:

1. I approached the “Rally to Restore Sanity” with cynicism. I wasn’t the only one; my brother called it “The Gathering of the Smuggalos“.

My whole attitude toward politics has been pissy and reluctant this election season. (It doesn’t help I live in Illinois.) “Why bother?” I’ve caught myself thinking. “The GOP is only going to win everything and send this country back to 1952.”

But I digress. What I saw of the rally, I loved. Stephen Colbert never fails to make me laugh. Both Colbert and Jon Stewart reminded me that I am proud to be an American (where at least I know I’m free.)

I especially enjoyed Jon Stewart’s remarks at the end of the rally. Well, except for the part where he forgot he was part of cable TV’s 24 hour news cycle. I’m sorry, if you are a guest on CNN’s Crossfire AND help to get the show canceled, you are a part of the system.

Still, I raise my can of Coke in Stewart and Colbert’s general direction.

2. My brother and I drove around South Central Wisconsin after the rally. The plan was to go miniature golfing in Wisconsin Dells, but Pirate’s Cove dared to be closed.

So we sang instead. If you heard us warbling along to songs like Ratt’s “Round and Round” and Tom Petty’s “Into the Great Wide Open,” your ears will heal soon. We hadn’t had a bonding experience like that in years.

3. Here’s what I wrote about Halloween on Facebook: “The vibe around my neighborhood tonight is less ‘Look at my son in his costume! Isn’t he darling?” and more “I will f*ck you up if I don’t get any candy.’ It makes for an interesting night.”

You mean Halloween is actually scary? Who knew!?!?! To be fair to the Northwest Side, we didn’t get back into town until after 7, when many darling children are getting ready for a dreamland brought to them by high fructose corn syrup.

4. Two thumbs up to Jesse, whose byline was recently seen in the Wall Street Journal. I am so proud.

2 responses to “Season of the Witch

  1. thanks for the shout t-rozzles!

    One thing- I don’t understand what you mean about jon stewart and crossfire. Did you watch the clip of him on the show? He used his guest appearance to harshly decry everything the show does, in a way he couldn’t have done nearly as effectively from his own comedy program. That doesn’t really make him part of the “Crossfire system,” does it?

    Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I think Jon Stewart is a smug, self-important demagogue. I just happened to be impressed with his Crossfire stunt.

Leave a Reply

