Gobble Gobble Hey: 7 Things I’m Thankful For This Year

Thanksgiving! Turkey! Stuffing! Family! Football! 50 foot balloons! You know the drill.

What’s often lost in the shuffle on the fourth Thursday in November is gratitude. I certainly am someone who forgets to count her blessings from time to time. I just wanted to get it on record today that I do go back and reflect how lucky I am.

1. I am thankful for my husband. I just realized we met at La Perla in Milwaukee 4.5 years ago today! (When we hugged outside of the restaurant, I knew that he would be the one I’d marry.)

But enough about 2006. His wit, intelligence and caring have made our four years of dating and five months of marriage pass with hyper turbo speed. He makes me laugh when I need to lighten up, he amazes me with how damn smart he is in all things, and he greets each day with a smile. He’s the ketchup to my french fry…. ok, I need to stop now.

2. I am thankful for my family, both old and new.

3. Unfortunately, health problems occurred with my mother-in-law, father-in-law and mother this year. While I am not thankful for that happening, I’m very happy that they weren’t worse.

4. I am thankful for the wedding, and all the people who helped make the events of June 26, 2010 happen. I had a good time. Husband had a good time. Most reports from the field showed that attendees had a good time. It wouldn’t have happened without our cast of wedding elves.

5. Thank god I’m employed at a place that pays a living wage, gives me interesting work to do, allows me to commute with my husband, offers health insurance and allows me to go home early on days before major national holidays. (If we had left work at our normal time yesterday, it would have taken us 2.5 to 3 hours to get home. Thanks, Chicago traffic!)

In the long run, thank god I’m employed.

6. I’m so happy we have Kitty and Moose. They enrich our lives in ways I can’t express.

7. I’m so grateful for creature comforts, such as: Saturday mornings, my iPhone, road trips, This American Life, A Practical Wedding, cable tv, Culver’s, people who read this blog, changing seasons and The Old Town School of Folk Music, to name just a few.

What are you grateful for? Spill it in the comments.

3 responses to “Gobble Gobble Hey: 7 Things I’m Thankful For This Year

  1. I’m thankful for creature comforts, too, and I am thankful for awesome friends like you.

  2. Loved ones (natch) and all the creature comforts of the first world.

    Happy T-gives, T-Roz!

Leave a Reply

