Party of Five: The Weather is Here, Wish You Were Beautiful

1. Seconds turn into minutes and minutes turn into hours and hours turn into days and all the while, I am not updating my blog. Bad Tori.
My excuse? I’ve spent May on the move.

2. I met (New York Times Bestselling Author) Jen Lancaster at a Lincoln Park Barnes and Noble. She recognized me from somewhere. We couldn’t figure out where our paths had crossed. I’ll chalk it up to working near her North Shore residence.

3. The Mr. and I went to see Jellies! No, not the shoes popular among young girls in 1986 and 1995: jellyfish. I could have watched them all day.

4. I did some writing too. First, I attended a class called “Digging Into Character” by YA author Stephanie Kuehnert at Story Studio Chicago. She taught great techniques that helped me flesh out a character for this YA novel I’ve been meaning to start. Furthermore, it was great to talk to someone about how much Girl Goddess #9 by Francesca Lia Block rocks. I don’t get many opportunities to do that.

Here’s where I get cryptic: On Monday night, I submitted something to one of my favorite blogs. Since I haven’t heard from the blog’s editors yet with a frenzied “OMG WE MUST PUBLISH THIS IMMEDIATELY,” I’m assuming no news is bad news. They didn’t respond to another submission I sent their way last winter. When enough time passes, I’ll publish it here and let you be the judge.

5. Today is a special day. Five years ago tonight, I met the Mr. for the first time on the corner of 5th and National in Milwaukee. We shared some fish tacos (no, that’s not a euphemism) and made fun of the whole La Perla ethos. Now he’s sitting next to me watching Web Soup and sporting a wedding ring. Funny how time flies, hmmm?

Leave a Reply

